All Commissioners are appointed in their personal capacity and are not representing any particular organisation.

Lord Toby Harris

Chair, National Preparedness Commission; former Chair, Metropolitan Police Authority; former Reviewer of London’s terrorist preparedness

Sir Ian Andrews CBE TD

Vice-Chair, National Preparedness Commission; former Second Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence; former Chairman, Serious Organised Crime Agency

Professor Brian Collins CB FREng

Vice-Chair, National Preparedness Commission; Emeritus Professor of Engineering Policy, University College London

Sir Kenneth Olisa OBE

Vice-Chair, National Preparedness Commission; Chairman, Restoration Partners

Gisela Abbam

Chair, General Pharmaceutical Council; former Chair, British Science Association

Lord Victor Adebowale CBE

Chair, NHS Confederation

Rt Hon Lord James Arbuthnot

Chair, House of Lords Risk Assessment and Risk Planning Committee; former Chair, House of Commons Defence Committee

Hanif Barma

Co-Founder, Risk Coalition; Partner, Board Alchemy

John Barradell OBE

Chair, National Emergencies Trust; former Town Clerk and Chief Executive, City of London and Deputy Chairman, London Resilience Forum

Dr Ruth Boumphrey

Chief Executive, Lloyds Register Foundation

I. Stephanie Boyce

Former President of the Law Society of England and Wales

Elisabeth Braw

Fellow, American Enterprise Institute; former Director of the Modern Deterrence Project, RUSI

Tom Clementi

Chief Executive, Pool Re

Dame Jo da Silva DBE FREng

Arup Fellow; Global Sustainable Development Director, Arup

Dame Cressida Dick DBE QPM

Former Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police

Stephen Dunmore

Chair, Royal Voluntary Service; former Chief Executive, Big Lottery Fund

Carolyn Dwyer

Executive Director Growth and Regeneration, London Borough of Sutton

Kersten England CBE

Co-Chair West Yorkshire Local Resilience Forum and Society of Local Authority Chief Executives Spokesperson on Community Resilience

Julian Enoizi

CEO of Guy Carpenter Europe,  Guy Carpenter

Lord Jonathan Evans KCB DL

Former Director General, MI5

Steve Fraser

Chief Executive Officer, Cadent

Helene Galy

Director, Willis Research Network, Willis Towers Watson

Professor Peter Guthrie OBE FREng

Vice President, Royal Academy of Engineering; Professor of Sustainable Development, University of Cambridge

Lord Peter Hendy

Chair, Network Rail and the London Legacy Development Corporation, and formerly Commissioner of Transport for London 2006-2015

Deborah Higgins

Head, Emergency Planning College

Rt Hon Ruth Kelly

Chair of Water UK; Chair of Thames Freeport; former Cabinet Minister

Matthew Killick

Former UK Director – Crisis response and Community Resilience, British Red Cross

Robyn Knox MBE

Director, Voluntary and Community Sector Emergencies Partnership

Dr Patricia Lewis

Research Director for International Security, Chatham House

Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser DBE FRS

Chief Executive, UK Research and Innovation

Rt Hon Sir David Lidington KCB CBE

Chair, Royal United Services Institute; former de facto Deputy Prime Minister

Professor Michael Mainelli

Chairman, Z/Yen Group

Ian Marchant

Chair, Morgan Advanced Materials

Professor Ciaran Martin CB

Professor of Practice, Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford, Managing Director, Paladin Capital

Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dame Sarah Mullally DBE

Bishop of London; former UK Chief Nursing Officer

Professor Sir David Omand GCB

Former Permanent Secretary at the Home Office; Visiting professor in the Department of War Studies, Kings College London

Professor Lord Martin Rees OM FRS

Astronomer Royal; Co-founder, Centre for the Study of Existential Risk

Rt Hon Lord John Reid

Chair, Institute for Strategy, Resilience and Security at UCL; former Home Secretary

Neil Robertson

Global Head of Security, Unilever

Professor Brooke Rogers OBE

Professor of Behavioural Science, Kings College London

Dr David Rubens

Executive Director, Institute for Strategic Risk Management

Basil Scarsella

Chief Executive, UK Power Networks

Richard Smith-Bingham

Executive Director, Marsh and McLennan

Dr Fiona Twycross

Deputy Mayor of London for Fire and Resilience; Chair, London Resilience Forum

Professor Liz Varga

Professor of Complex Systems, University College London

Dr Karin von Hippel

Director-General, Royal United Services Institute

Professor Alison Wakefield

Former Chair of the Security Institute; Professor of Criminology and Security Studies, University of West London



Former Assistant Chief Constable, Owen Weatherill

National Mobilisation Coordinator and Strategic Lead at the National Police Coordination Centre, and National Police Chiefs Council Lead for Civil Contingencies

Admiral Rt Hon Lord Alan West GCB DSC

Former National Security and Cyber Security Minister; former First Sea Lord and Chief of Defence Intelligence

Paul Williams

Independent Advisor on Resilience; former Head, Operational Risk and Resilience, Bank of England

David Wright FREng

Director, Electricity Transmission, National Grid