The work of the NPC is overseen by a panel of Commission Members (‘Commissioners’), selected for the variety and depth of insight and experience that they can bring to the table.

Reflecting our belief in a ‘whole of society’ approach to preparedness, Commissioners are drawn from across public life, academia, industry, commerce, the voluntary and charity sectors and beyond.  This diversity of views acts as an enabler to the cross-fertilisation and amplification of the UK’s preparedness knowledge base.

The role of a Commissioner is threefold:

  • They act as ambassadors for the work of the NPC
  • They provide subject matter expertise, on their own part and through their professional network
  • They act as critical friends to the Commission.

We are extremely grateful for the support and wisdom that our Commissioners offer.

All Commissioners are appointed in their personal capacity and not as representatives of any particular organisation.  The full list of Commissioners is shown below.

  • Lord Victor Adebowale CBE

    Chair, NHS Confederation

  • Lord Toby Harris

    Chair, National Preparedness Commission

  • Sir Ian Andrews CBE TD


  • Professor Brian Collins CB FREng

    Vice-Chair, National Preparedness Commission; Emeritus Professor of Engineering Policy, University College London

  • Sir Kenneth Olisa OBE

    Vice-Chair, National Preparedness Commission; Chairman, Restoration Partners

  • Gisela Abbam

    Chair, General Pharmaceutical Council; former Chair, British Science Association

  • Rt Hon Lord James Arbuthnot

    Chair, House of Lords Risk Assessment and Risk Planning Committee; former Chair, House of Commons Defence Committee

  • Hanif Barma

    Co-Founder, Risk Coalition; Partner, Board Alchemy

  • John Barradell OBE

    Chair, National Emergencies Trust; former Town Clerk and Chief Executive, City of London and Deputy Chairman, London Resilience Forum

  • Dr Ruth Boumphrey

    Chief Executive, Lloyds Register Foundation

  • I. Stephanie Boyce

    Former President of the Law Society of England and Wales

  • Elisabeth Braw

    Senior Associate Fellow, European Leadership Network; former Director of the Modern Deterrence Project, RUSI

  • Tom Clementi

    Chief Executive, Pool Re

  • Dame Jo da Silva DBE FREng

    Arup Fellow; Global Sustainable Development Director, Arup

  • Dame Cressida Dick DBE QPM

    Former Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police

  • Stephen Dunmore

    Former Chair, Royal Voluntary Service; former Chief Executive, Big Lottery Fund

  • Carolyn Dwyer

    Executive Director Growth and Regeneration, London Borough of Sutton

  • Kersten England CBE

    Chair, Young Foundation; Director, Yorkshire Policy Innovation Partnership; former Chair, West Yorkshire Resilience Forum; former Chief Executive of Bradford and York Councils

  • Hélène Galy

    Director, Willis Research Network, Willis Towers Watson

  • Professor Peter Guthrie CBE FREng

    Vice President, Royal Academy of Engineering; Professor of Sustainable Development, University of Cambridge

  • Basil Scarsella

    Chief Executive, UK Power Networks

  • Richard Smith-Bingham

    Executive Director, Marsh and McLennan

  • Professor Liz Varga CBE

    Professor of Complex Systems, University College London

  • Dr Karin von Hippel

    Director-General, Royal United Services Institute

  • Professor Alison Wakefield

    Former Chair of the Security Institute; Professor of Criminology and Security Studies, University of West London

  • Owen Weatherill KPM

    Former Assistant Chief Constable; former National Mobilisation Coordinator and Strategic Lead at the National Police Coordination Centre, former National Police Chiefs Council Lead for Civil Contingencies

  • Admiral Rt Hon Lord Alan West GCB DSC

    Former National Security and Cyber Security Minister; former First Sea Lord and Chief of Defence Intelligence

  • Julian Enoizi

    CEO of Guy Carpenter Europe, Guy Carpenter

  • Steve Fraser

    Chief Executive Officer, Cadent

  • Deborah Higgins

    Head, Emergency Planning College

  • Lisa Hollins

    Executive Director - UK Operations, British Red Cross

  • Rt Hon Ruth Kelly

    Chair of Water UK; Chair of Thames Freeport; former Cabinet Minister

  • Matthew Killick

    Executive Director of Operations, Scouts

  • Robyn Knox MBE

    Director, Voluntary and Community Sector Emergencies Partnership

  • Dr Patricia Lewis

    Research Director for International Security, Chatham House

  • Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser DBE FRS

    Chief Executive, UK Research and Innovation

  • Rt Hon Sir David Lidington KCB CBE

    Chair, Royal United Services Institute; former de facto Deputy Prime Minister

  • Professor Michael Mainelli

    Lord Mayor of the City of London; Chairman, Z/Yen Group

  • Bruce Mann CB

    Strategic Advisor on Resilience and Preparedness; former Director, Civil Contingencies Secretariat

  • Ian Marchant

    Chair, Morgan Advanced Materials

  • Professor Ciaran Martin CB

    Professor of Practice, Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford, Managing Director, Paladin Capital

  • Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dame Sarah Mullally DBE

    Bishop of London; former UK Chief Nursing Officer

  • Dr Kathryn Oldham OBE

    Chief Resilience Officer, Greater Manchester Combined Authority

  • Professor Sir David Omand GCB

    Former Permanent Secretary at the Home Office; Visiting professor in the Department of War Studies, Kings College London

  • Professor Lord Martin Rees OM FRS

    Astronomer Royal; Co-founder, Centre for the Study of Existential Risk

  • Rt Hon Lord John Reid

    Chair, Institute for Strategy, Resilience and Security at UCL; former Home Secretary

  • Neil Robertson

    Global Head of Security, Unilever

  • Professor Brooke Rogers OBE

    Professor of Behavioural Science, Kings College London

  • Dr David Rubens

    Executive Director, Institute for Strategic Risk Management

  • Paul Williams

    President, EIS Council

  • David Wright FREng

    Director, Electricity Transmission, National Grid